Sodas, strategies, and breathing

Couldn’t think of a third s-word that fit.  Ah, well.  Anyway…

I need new soda options.

On the one hand, there are sticky, thick, sweet, high-fructose-syrup-y nightmares, which are enough to make me gag after a while.  (Yes, even my beloved ginger ale falls victim to this after I have too much of it.)  On the other hand, there’s stuff like Diet Coke, which is much crisper and lighter and I much prefer the flavor… but I can’t imagine the chemicals in it are really very healthy.  I’m experimenting with fruit juices (with or without spices) mixed with soda water; hopefully that’ll yield positive results?

So I’ve been reading up on Attachment Parenting over at http://www.raisingmyboychick.com/, and about raising free-range children over at http://freerangekids.wordpress.com/.  Which, at first glance, would seem to be opposing philosophies, but I’m not convinced that’s the case.  While one seems focused on keeping your child close and the other on letting them have their space, they both have, as a primary principle, profound respect for children.  I can dig that.  I’m pretty new to both philosophies (while parenting strategies are interesting to me, for obvious reasons I’ve only been a dilettante until recently), but I’m looking forward to finding out more.  I suspect I’ll find some correspondences.

In other news, is claustrophobia a normal reaction to pregnancy??  I dunno, I guess I should be grateful that the nausea and fatigue seem to be fading, but I’m not sure the don’t-touch-me-can’t-breathe! reaction is much of an improvement.

2 thoughts on “Sodas, strategies, and breathing

  1. Orange Crush. I loved through Orange Crush all 3 of my pregnancies. And the word “orange” alongside that cheerful, orangey can made me feel like I was drinking something better for my babies than Coke. 🙂 It’s all about the psychology of the soda.

    Congratulations on your pregnancy! Attachment and Free Range are TOTALLY meshable. I do them both and homeschool and my kids are definitely attached but able to run around the neighborhood without fear of not being able to handle themselves.

  2. I totally agree – I think attachment and freerange totally work hand in hand! I consider myself to be both, too 🙂

    I’m in Austria and it seems to me that we drink a lot less soda than americans do because that was never a problem for me – here is what I like to drink (pregnant or not): Fruit juice diluted with sparkly mineral water. It depends on the juice you use (I like my OJ non-sparkly, for example) and on how sweet the juice is, but you can use about 1/3 juice, 2/3 water in most cases. My current winter alternative is herbal tea (I like apple cinnamon tea) sweetned with apple juice – tastes like fruit punch…

    Vee

Leave a Reply

