Randomness from around the intarwebs

* “When someone is a little bit wrong — say, when a waiter puts nonfat milk in your espresso macchiato, instead of lowfat milk — it is often quite easy to explain to them how and why they are wrong. But if someone is surpassingly wrong — say, when a waiter bites your nose instead of taking your order–you can often be so surprised that you are unable to say anything at all. Paralyzed by how wrong the waiter is, your mouth would hang slightly open and your eyes would blink over and over, but you would be unable to say a word.” – Lemony Snicket, The Reptile Room. 

This quote sums up my reaction to so much of the internet; from now on, when I refer to something as “nose-bitingly wrong,” y’all will know what I mean.

* If you let poor people have money, they’ll buy things!  If you let senior citizens have financial independence, they won’t be financially dependent!  THIS IS AWFUL POVERTY FOR EVERYONE

* There’s some controversy over at the Catholic Church about whether Dorothy Day should be canonized as the church’s newest saint.  Not being Catholic, I don’t actually… y’know… care, but I do think it’s funny that part of the controversy revolves around her “mis-spent” youth.  I mean, I can see where they’re coming from.  I can’t imagine someone who was wild, worldly, and (per Catholic dogma) immoral in their youth ever being made a saint, can you?  *cough*St. Augustine*cough*

* This exists:

image

* Parents to teacher: “Waah!  We can no longer emotionally abuse our daughter!  SOMEHOW THIS IS YOUR FAULT AND YOU SHOULD BE FIRED.”

* If anyone out there is waiting for me to comment on the Savita story, sorry.  You’re going to have to wait until I can get three sentences out about it without wanting to burst into tears and punch someone in the face simultaneously.  (So, maybe in a couple years.  Maybe.)

* C.S. Lewis and Parke Godwin, two authors I’ve loved since I was a kid (albeit for very different, sometimes completely opposite reasons) shared one thing: a vision of Hell in which the exits were well-marked and brightly lit, and the inhabitants were encouraged to use them.

In both versions, Hell was not something an external authority imposed on anyone.  Rather, people carried Hell with them.  At any time, the choice is theirs to stop being miserable – not to convert or bargain or anything like that, but simply to decide to set down their misery and allow themselves to be happy.  And in both books, it is a source of continual frustration to the outsider looking in how few people ever decide to do so.

This is what comes to mind these days when I read yet more reports of Republicans wailing and gnashing their teeth over the election.  (I’m not including a link on that, because really, you’re online – you’ve seen ’em.)  I’ve gotten past the gloating stage and honestly, I kinda feel bad for them.  They have created a horrible world for themselves, a world where everything is awful and everyone is out to get them.  And sure, you could say they brought it on themselves, but I don’t think anyone deserves to live in a world like that, even if they did make it themselves.

Like BooMan, I’d like to be able to tell these people that the bogeyman isn’t real and it really will be ok.  Sadly, I think I’d have about as much luck as the people carrying that same message did in The Great Divorce.

3 thoughts on “Randomness from around the intarwebs

    • TBF, she was, according to at least one source, a… a little harsh when he converted to Christianity. I mean, I wouldn’t like Su to turn out Christian either, but I can’t really get behind a parent disowning their kid for turning out different than they’d hoped. So, y’know, I can see how it might have fucked him up a bit.

      Still doesn’t excuse him from being a jackass, though.

      When it comes to the phrase… several years back, before I met you, I encountered my very first real and proper online troll. And I mean, this guy was a prize – a self-described “Satanic Nazi,” the works. Anyway, after a spirited conversation, he managed to say something so blindingly stupid that I was left stunned and speechless. He, of course, declared that since Iwas out of arguments, that meant he had won.

      Imagine my glee when I read that passage and went “That! That right there! That is what you did, long-ago troll guy!!! You were nose-bitingly stupid!”

      It’s my new thing now 🙂

      • And I totally understand him being angry at his mom. She wasn’t a great mother or a very nice person. But she also wasn’t a completely deluded idiot like Murray. If he wants to reject his mom and her legacy, go for it. But it looks like he decided to reject reality instead.

        Very cool story. I’ve been in situations like that as well. It’s Dave Silverman rage face-style arguments that you just don’t know how to react to. “Nose-bitingly stupid” is a great way to describe it.

Leave a Reply

