Home Defense for Women

“Young women are speaking out as to why AR-15 weapons are their weapon of choice,” Trotter explained. “The guns are accurate. They have good handling. They’re light. They’re easy for women to hold.”

She added: “And most importantly, their appearance. An assault weapon in the hands of a young woman defending her babies in her home becomes a defense weapon, and the peace of mind that a woman has as she’s facing three, four, five violent attackers, intruders in her home, with her children screaming in the background, the peace of mind that she has knowing that she has a scary-looking gun gives her more courage when she’s fighting hardened, violent criminals.”

“And if we ban these types of assault weapons, you are putting women at a great disadvantage, more so than men, because they do not have the same type of physical strength and opportunity to defend themselves in a hand-to-hand struggle. They’re not criminals, they’re moms, they’re young women. And they’re not used to violence confrontations.”

Thus spake IWF’s Gayle Trotter at the Senate Judiciary Hearing on gun violence.

Speaking as a young woman and a mother, d’you know my preferred defense weapon against home invasion?

A throwing axe, a KA-BAR, and a goddamn fuck-off quarterstaff.

I think I’m good.

(H/t to Monica Roberts)

2 thoughts on “Home Defense for Women

  1. *stares in amazed horror*

    What reality are these people living in?! I just… the… I don’t even know what to call that middle paragraph. It shouldn’t be a fantasy, and yet, that’s what it reads like, not a nightmare situation.

    It is, of course, a fantasy. A fantasy that reality could ever work that way. That a person, on being surprised by a gang of intruders could get their gun out of their gun safe, load it, and defend their house successfully. … Oh, wait, they had it kept loaded on the wall. In a house with kids.

    I give up.

    • Yyyyyup.

      I went the flippant route because it was funnier (and because, really, the sight of a naked fat woman screeching like a banshee and running at you wielding a medieval weapon has GOT to be kind of intimidating to anyone trying to quietly break into our house in the middle of the night), but realistically? If you ARE in a situation where anyone threatens you/your family inside your home, owning a gun of any kind is very rarely going to be helpful, and quite often will be the opposite.

      Don’t get me wrong, I like guns. I like weapons in general. (I think they’re nifty.) I’ve enjoyed the few times I’ve shot in the past, and would like to learn to shoot better at some point in the future. But I don’t want one in the house with my daughter. And for many many reasons, even if I owned a gun, it would not be my go-to response if I were attacked or threatened.

      Also-also: one of the scariest moments I had while babysitting was when the 10-year-old kid I was watching decided it would be “cool” to show me his dad’s gun. The dad had hidden the gun, somewhere which he obviously thought would be hard-to-find and out of the kid’s reach (and therefore, as you point out, difficult to easily access in a scary situation and thus kinda pointless.) And yet the kid knew EXACTLY where it was, and what furniture to move where in order to clamber up and pull it out, waving it around with a big grin as he showed off his “toy.” Moral of the story: anything you keep in the house, assume your kid CAN access it, if he tries hard enough.

Leave a Reply

